## Oklahoma Chapter - Association of College and Research Libraries September 12, 1997 Rose State

## Minutes

Attendees: Steve Locy, President Rhonda Harris Taylor, President elect Melissa Cast, Secretary Beverly Jones, Treasurer Thomas Thorisch Laura Bottoms, OBIC Chair Mary Evans Victoria Swinney

Absent: Bob Patterson

PREVIOUS MINUTES: Minutes were approved.

TREASURER'S REPORT: Beginning balance \$2,544.92

Deposits 103.00 Expenditures 0.00 Balance \$2,647.92

Number paid members: 102 Number sent newsletter: 160

Number of members not members of OLA or ALA: 8 Number of members not members on OLA role: 40

OBIC REPORT: Next meeting is scheduled for Sept. 26th at University of Tulsa.

OBIC elections will be held in October and suggestions for nominees are welcome.

PARAPROFESSIONAL AWARDS: Announcements with applications have been sent to OK library directors and various other organizations around the area.

ELECTIONS: Several names were given as possible nominees for the open positions of President, Secretary, Treasurer and one board member spot. It was noted that OK-ACRL officers must be ALA members.

Board member nominees - Anne Pestamo and Susan Shriner Treasurer/Secretary positions - Bea Lavellee; Melissa Cast; Laura Bottoms; John Heisch and Ed Wiles President - Carolyn Torrence and Rick Sayre

Ballots will be returned to Rhonda Harris Taylor

NEWSLETTER: Thorisch submitted a short article to the National ACRL newsletter on our Fall Conference and the Paraprofessional Award.

The next newsletter will contain an announcement of the new library director at OSU-OKC, a message from the President, the section on libraries from the Regents' report and the library portion of the technology study recently done for the Regents. There will also be an announcement for the upcoming OK-ACRL elections.

UCD/OLA: UCD-OLA has asked two members, Linda Taylor and Laura Bottoms, to serve on a committee to look into forming a closer relationship between UCD-OLA and OK-ACRL. OK-ACRL will ask Bob Patterson and Dottie Davis to serve on the committee.

FALL CONFERENCE: John Woltz will be asked to be the final member of the Reactor Panel joining IIa Grice, Marty Thompson and Anne Blakely.

Keynote speakers - Lee Hisle will be our speaker from ACRL. We haven't received a bio or outline of his speech yet. Phil Moss sent his bio but not an outline of his speech.

Refreshments: Thorisch will contact Rose State for refreshments and will contact Dona Davidson about how the payment procedures worked last year.

Flyer: A flyer will be sent with the newsletter with the pre-registration form.

Pre-registration Fees: \$25 nonmembers \$15 members \$10 full-time students

Pre-registration forms will be returned to Beverly by Oct. 31. Receipts will be available at the conference. People can also pre-register by e-mail and then pay at the door.

On-site registration fees:: \$30 nonmembers \$20 members \$10 full-time students

Free guest: Paraprofessional award winners, OLA drawing winner, Jan Ferris , four reactor panelists and the two speakers.

Hotel: Clarion will be the designated conference hotel.

Packets: Will include a Midwest City restaurant guide, an agenda, 1998 membership form, and an evaluation form. Cast will make up the packets.

E-mail reminder: An e-mail reminder will be sent a couple weeks before the conference to OK library directors.

Submitted by, Melissa Cast