Oklahoma Chapter-ACRL Business Meeting November 5, 2007

The meeting was called to order at 9:15 am by President David Oberhelman.

Oberhelman introduced the OK-ACRL Board members: Laura Teske-President Elect for 2008 Kate Corbett-Outgoing Past President Kiem Ta-Treasurer Lauren Donaldson-Outgoing Secretary Tom Thorisch-Board member Jason Cimock-Board member Edwin Wiles-Outgoing Board member

Candidates on the Election Slate for 2008 were introduced: Candidates for Secretary: Barbara Miller and Joyce Peterson Candidates for Board member Emily Brown and Beth Jones Candidates for Vice President/President Elect Robin Leech and Ona Britton

Proposed By-laws change: to get our by-laws into alignment with ACRL requirement for 501 c 3 status, we basically agree not to pay our Board or Officers any money beyond repayment for expenditures.

Members were urged to cast their ballots by the end of the day.

Reports

COIL Report COIL Chair Jason Dupree announced that Jamie Holmes is Chair Elect and the new secretary is Sarah Clark. Jason reported on a very successful 2.0 conference over the summer; COIL has a redesigned web site; next meeting will be November 30, 2007 at Southwestern OK State University in Weatherford.

President Oberhelman reported that OK-ACRL is looking to expand member opportunities for active participation by adding interest sections like COIL.

One new interest section that took off this spring is the Distance Learning Interest Section, named D-SIG. Under the direction of Convener Robin Leech, D-SIG has met three times, and has a meeting scheduled for January 31<sup>st</sup> which will be convened by Jerry Hall. D-SIG has a discussion list on Collective X created by Roy Degler.

Other interest groups which have been proposed, the Access Services Interest Group, and a group which would address diversity issues, have been put on a back burner for the time being, but will be addressed again in the Spring.

Treasurer's Report

Kiem Ta reported that as of the September bank statement, we have \$4800 in our account. She has received \$1280 in conference checks so far.

## Legislative Advocate

President Oberhelman introduced our legislative advocate, Barbara Miller, who works to pass on ACRL legislative updates to the Chapter members. Her goal is to keep academic librarians aware of legislative activity that can directly impact their services. She urged everyone to let your legislators know how you want them to vote on issues. Barbara also said that her goal is to prepare and disseminate brief background papers on current issues so that members will know the back story behind the votes.

President Oberhelman announced the demise of the print OK-ACRL newsletter as a method of informing the membership of events of interest, and proudly unveiled the new OK-ACRL blog which will live on the website. Blog posts will come primarily from Board members, but if some members want to post, they should contact Laura Teske , 2008 President or Jason Cimock, our blogmaster.